An Update on My Life

23 Jun

Yesterday was a busy and productive day for me…

1) I gave the signed Property Settlement Agreement to the lawyer so that they can file it.  Gotta get them to schedule a court date to make this official. 

2) Gave the security deposit to the Realtor for the house (the hyperlink is in one of the posts below). 

So it’s two big steps forward.  But honestly, when I gave the PSA to the lawyer, it really had this profound physical effect on me.  I felt partly lighter, partly ready to panic and partly ready to cry.  Now we all know that my marriage was over.  Really over.  And that this is the best way forward.  But….there is this air of finality to it.  I don’t know what I was expecting…but I was caught off guard by my reaction.  I really don’t know how to explain it but the closest feeling that I have is when I graduated from college – but before graduation.  The final exam is taken, the grades are in the professors hands and you have nothing to do.  Everything that you’re used to – the studying, the cramming, the schedule life of  ‘oh crap, I have to get to class’ – all of that isn’t there.  But you’re not quite done.  There’s just one more ceremony to do in order ot make it official. 

The only difference is where graduation was around 2-3 days from when your finals ended, my divorce won’t be final for another four months.  Hmmm…..

 

About the house – I am so excited.  Really am.  Have been planning and thinking how I am going to decorate, what’s going to go where, finding out whether I am allowed to paint, what kind of curtains – yeah, that stuff I am really really excited about.  I just can’t wait to get that going.  Looks like if all goes right, I’ll be moving around the 6th or 7th of August (which continues my streak of only moving during the hottest part of the year…).  I can’t wait to post pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

