A Four Day Headache?!

29 Jun

I had a headache for four days.  Thursday through Sunday.  Are you f’ing kidding me?

It was a really really bad headache.  The worst I’ve had and the longest I’ve ever had one without reprieve.  It started on Thursday while I was at work (which I just chalked up to it being stressed by work and my coworkers), continued through class Thursday night (which I chalked up to just continued stress) – though I should have known that something was up because I damn near was crying because Michael (my brother) and Victoria (my sister) left the kitchen a mess, there was laundry to do, the house was dirty…and apparently that was too much for me to handle.

Continued Friday (which again, I thought was not eating / drinking water and stress from work) through Friday night (again, I should have realized just how bad it was when eating dinner with some awesome people and their 4 boys damn near put me into a panic attack) through to Saturday. 

Saturday I went to my ex’s house to hang out with the dogs and my head was pounding.  I didn’t want to eat anything – nothing sounded good – and didn’t drink anything but about 8oz of water and 6oz of apple juice.  Not good.  Not good at all.  Oh wait – I did have a Coke Zero and a Lipton Ice Tea, as I was thinking that maybe having caffeine would open up the blood vessels in my head and perhaps abate the migraine. 

 Yeah, hope DOES spring eternal. 

 

Fast forward to about 10pm Saturday night.  And that’s when the shit hit the fan (proverbially, of course).  I hadn’t eaten until about 9pm…finally sat down, had mashed potatoes, veggies and bread…with a beer…and I don’t know what, exactly was the straw that broke the camels back but something did.  And then *bam* I was down for the count.  I couldn’t really talk, really couldn’t keep my eyes open – everything hurt.  I hurt so badly that I wanted to cry.  But I didn’t want to cry because that would hurt as well.  I was absolutely miserable. 

I was laying in bed and as soon as the computer screen went to sleep it felt like an anvil had been removed from my head.  I’d already had my hand / arm over my eyes and still…as soon as that little bit of light from the monitor clicked off — wow, what a relief.  I was pitiful. 

The next morning wasn’t any better.  I took some Excedrin and drank some water but still my head was pounding.  It felt like my right eye was going to pop straight of my head because there was just so much pressure built up behind it.  All I wanted was bread…and coffee.  I probably could have used multiple IV’s just to get my hydration levels  back up to ‘normal people’s levels’ but I just didn’t want one. 

I ended up laying on the couch for the rest of the day, hanging out with Jersey and Stanley.  Finally about 4pm or so this damn headache started to abate.  This has got to be the longest headache I’ve ever had without a definitive cause. 

I’ve had migraines when I switch or come off birth control, when I get massively dehydrated (say after a half or full marathon)…but never quite like this. 

If I get another migraine, I know I’ll be hunting for Vicodin or something equally potent AND looking for an IV.  I don’t know that I could handle that kind of pain again…though as I’m sitting here now, I can feel the stabbing knife-like pain building again….

Leave a Reply

