Words

20 Jul

 

Main Entry:
1in·de·pen·dent 
 
Function:
adjective
Date:
1611
1: not dependent: as a (1): not subject to control by others : self-governing (2): not affiliated with a larger controlling unit <an independent bookstore> b (1): not requiring or relying on something else : not contingent <an independent conclusion> (2):not looking to others for one’s opinions or for guidance in conduct (3): not bound by or committed to a political party c (1): not requiring or relying on others (as for care or livelihood) <independent of her parents> (2): being enough to free one from the necessity of working for a living <a person of independent means> d: showing a desire for freedom <an independent manner> e (1): not determined by or capable of being deduced or derived from or expressed in terms of members (as axioms or equations) of the set under consideration
  
 

Main Entry:
stub·born 
 

Function:

adjective
Etymology:
Middle English stibourne, stuborn
Date:
14th century
1 a (1): unreasonably or perversely unyielding : mulish (2): justifiably unyielding : resolute b: suggestive or typical of a strong stubborn nature <a stubborn jaw>2: performed or carried on in an unyielding, obstinate, or persistent manner <stubborn effort>3: difficult to handle, manage, or treat <a stubborn cold>4: lasting <stubborn facts>

 

I have been called both.  Fiercely independent and unbelievably stubborn.  Typically they are negatives – character flaws.  I don’t see them that way.  I see these two words as being two separate issues, two separate words and ones that are not used interchangeably. 
Now that I’m finally breaking free of constraints – my ex or living at my mothers – I find myself craving freedom and being (at times) bull-headed to get it. 
I just think that after being under someones thumb (my ex’s) for so long, I need this time to really re-construct who I am.  And I’m going to embrace my independence – as scary as it is. 
  
Leave a Reply

