Freaking Out

17 Dec

I test tomorrow for my next level of EMT certification.  Here in Virginia we have EMT-E.  It’s like EMT-B but with permissions to start IVs and give some meds – Epi, narcan, albuterol, atrovent, benedryl, D50, thiamine, ASAs and nitro (all dependent on regional protocols and OMD rules/regs/oversight – whatever the hell you want to call it).

I haven’t been in class since the end of July.  I’ve studied, created my flashcards, prattled off dosages to my dogs till they’re damn near prepared to take the exam themselves.

I just want to pass my exam.  And because tradition is a mother, I take this exam right after being dumped.

When I took my EMT-B exam, I took it 48hrs after finding out that my husband was cheating on me.  Now that I’m taking my EMT-E, it’s after having been dumped via text message. 

I hate to find out what will happen when I test for my paramedic. 

There is one sparkling silver lining – I got my performace eval for my job.  I scored a 4.67 out of 5 and am getting a pay raise!  It’s significant enough to make it so that I can breath a little easier next year.  Right now each month comes down to stretching the dollar until Gumby winces but the pay raise will make it easier.

21hrs till exam time.

One Response to “Freaking Out”

  1. Toni December 17, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    GOOD LUCK! You’ll do great.

    text message? really?

Leave a Reply

