Aaaand I’m Back

28 Jan

Life has been crazy and hectic and nuts and all that wrapped into one. 

Basic updates:  Still an EMT-B.  Because TCC won’t give me my money back from the test I didn’t take in December, I refuse on principle to pay for a second test and drive 1.5hrs away.  This is for a volunteer position, so come on!

Second update:  I’m moving in August.  My sister and I will be moving in together in August in the house that she and I basically grew up in. 

Other than that, I’ve been running a lot of rescue lately and had some great calls…went for a cross-dressing paranoid schizeophrenic who was running around the apartment complex in drag.  While that was weird and all, it was his apartment that was really odd.  Religious paraphenalia all over the place, a giant swordfish over the couch and then childrens toys – like baby dolls and a stroller were in the corner.  All around odd!

Went for an 80+year old patient with altered mental status due to malnutrion brought on by dementia and while he was odd, it was the sex dice that were hanging out on top of the TV that threw me for a loop. 

And then I had a patient who overdosed on methadone.  Like all patients fixin’ to have an overdose, he was on the 3rd floor of a beach house that had really narrow stairs and cooridors.  (why do they do this?  What the hell is wrong with the first floor??)  The patient’s family had thrown ice water on him to get him to wake up but all that produced was me kneeling in ice cubes working his respiratory distress that was working on transforming into respiratory arrest.  The patient was partially nude – don’t know if he was on his way to get naked or getting dressed but either way, I wish that the family hadn’t wasted the water and the time going up and down the stairs but instead, zipped and buttoned him.  S’all I’m saying. 

For the record, when the patient came around (2mg Narcan IM), his first question was ‘do my girlfriends parents know?’.  My answer – well, no, if they ignored the 4 cop cars, fire engine, ambulance, zone car, field supervisor….and the hysterical girlfriend who could really use a better choice in boyfriends……

Leave a Reply

