My car has an injury :*(

6 Aug

I was on my way to work today after stopping at Starbucks for the obligatory “it’s friday so that means Venti Skinny Vanilla Latte for Terri and a Grande Hot Chocolate for Chief’ start to the day.  We’ve been doing this every friday for several months now.  Since I get her hot chocolate, she gets my breakfast at a random point during the week.  Good stuff for everyone. 

Except this morning.  When I got into an accident.  I’m fine (well, my back is starting to really ache but I don’t know if it’s because of my accident or because I didn’t sleep well…again…last night). 

I was driving on one of the interstates that lead to work when all of a sudden everyone slams on their brakes – this is common where I live.  Any reason for the slamming on the breaks is acceptable – gush of wind, squirrel, rainbow, threat of thunderstorms – but slamming on the breaks is necessary. 

So I slammed on mine to avoid hitting the car in front of me.  I didn’t hit them but the woman behind me hit me. 

So I’m dealing the fun that is the insurance companies – and who pays what when and for how much.  I’m thankful that the woman that hit me HAS insurance and she stopped and that I wasn’t cited for anything.  I have the proof that the State Trooper cited her for following too closely.

I’ve notified family, friends, employers, insurance companies and EMS.  I have documentation of conversations and claim numbers, claim representatives and email exchanges.  I’m armed and ready to make the insurance company pay for my car boo-boo repair.

It's a boo-boo...and look, you can kinda see me in the background!

 

But my back is really sore…and I don’t want to go to the doctor to tell me to take some Motrin and do some stretches. 

Ah – the infamous stubborn streak – it shows it’s ugly face once again!

Leave a Reply

