What an unusual weekend

12 Oct

So this weekend was far from what I expected.  I had thought that it’d be a kind of quiet, if rescue-heavy, weekend.

Friday night – worked on a surprise for one of my best friends…it’s coming along but far from ready…this week I have to put a lot of effort into finalizing it….and I also had a rough go of realizing that I’m damn near 30 years old and didn’t have anything to do on a Friday night.  It was exacerbated by the fact that my sister and brother-in-law went out…I just felt lonely.

Saturday I went shopping with my Mom during the day and then I completed the All-Access 5K…I was nauseated throughout the race.  Just felt like I was going to vomit (lovely, huh?) but I figure that that was nerves.  I haven’t competed in a race in almost a year. 

Turns out – I finished 10th in my age group.  Yes – I was just as stunned as you.  See – here’s the evidence.  Pretty friggin’ cool, huh?

The other thing that happened was Sunday night.  It was an ‘incident’…ish.  I was supposed to pull 18hrs on the ambulance.  After I finished 12, I went to the other squad where I was told that I wasn’t needed because 2 other members just decided to pick up.  OK – whatever, I’ll go home.  My sister and brother-in-law invited me to join them at the local bar to watch the Phillies on one screen and the Eagles on the other – which made so much more sense than flipping back and forth.

While I was sitting there hanging out and enjoying a Sam Adams Oktoberfest, my ex-husband and the woman that he cheated on me with walked into the bar.  Sounds like the start to a bad joke, doesn’t it?  But nope, it’s my life.

I eventually was the bigger person and went over and  said ‘hi’ and talked for a few minutes…and then I left at halftime.  I went home and cried – not because I missed him, but rather for the loss of the future that I’d planned on – the one that will never be.  And then I got good and upset with myself for having that kind of reaction.  Afterall, he cheated on me before I realized that he wasn’t ready to be married.  We were trying for kids and he was fooling around.

So I made myself a promise – that never again will I get that upset.  I am going to make it through this life better.

One Response to “What an unusual weekend”

  1. katie October 12, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    wow, you’re so much more mature than me. i would have dumped a beer on his head.

Leave a Reply

