Wicked 10K

1 Nov

This race is going into the books as my most favorite 10K EVER.  SOOO much fun to run – starting with the fundamentals:

– Clear, concise and easy to understand packet pick up.

– Plenty of volunteers to hand out bibs (and pins together – essential!) and T-shirts and generally answer any number of questions

– Good sized expo – wouldn’t call it massive but for a 10K, it had a number of good booths for both the ‘upcoming’ races as well as shoes, clothing and the assorted other runner-centric stuff (massages, chiropractor, orthodics, etc)

– Plenty of FREE parking at the start.  Clearly identified corral start points

– TONS of runners in costume.  I didn’t dress up – but you bet your ass I will next year.  There were so many in really creative costumes (a guy running as a Centaur – he created the horse half and put the legs on wheels, the Squirrel from Ice Age chasing an acorn, the entire Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the Adams Family – including Cousin It) that I lost track of time and distance and didn’t realize that I’d already completed 3 miles – mainly because I looked at my watch and knew I wasn’t running 30-minute /mile pace!

– Plenty of ‘distraction’ or entertainment on the sideline – there was a female dance troupe out doing the Thriller Dance – and they were good. 

– And my Mom came out to cheer me on.  That was super cool.  She even ran about a 10th of a mile with me – pretty good for a woman who was wearing jeans, a fleece jacket, flip-flops and toe socks!

As for my results – here’s what I got:

“Congratulations on finishing the 2010 Blue Moon Wicked 10K presented by Bon Secours In Motion.  The weather on race morning was sunny and cool with a temperature of 51 degrees.  Winds were from the NNW at 4mph gusting to 12.

There were 747 finishers in the F25-29 age group and 6132 finishers in the race.  Your overall finish place was 3387 and your age group finish place was 389.  Your overall finish percentile was 45% while your age group percentile was 48%.  Your time of 1:06:28 gave you a 10:43/M pace per mile.”

I am incredibly happy that I did this race and you can guarantee that I’ll be out again next year!

Leave a Reply

