Thankful

18 Nov

Today is my 30th Birthday.  happy birthday me!  And I am incredibly thankful for this past year. 

This exact time last year, I was sitting in a courtroom waiting with my Mom to be called so that we could testify in front of  a judge that yes, I petitioned for a divorce and yes I still want that petition to be granted by the court.  And my mom was my witness to swear in front of a judge that my ex-husband and I hadn’t done anything (read: have sex) that would indicate we were a married couple.   Talk about a suck-tastic way to spend your 29th birthday.

It was all necessary.

Here I am on my 30th birthday – blogging away.  In a better place mentally, physically and emotionally than I was last year. I’ve run more miles in the last 3 months than I did all of last year.  I’ve been nominated for Civilian of the Quarter at work.  I have goals, ambitions and dreams.

I woke up this morning squished in between two dogs and was so unbelievably relaxed and comforted – I don’t remember the last time I woke up on my birthday like that.

I have my best friends – the ones that I don’t see all that often, don’t talk to or text all that often – and yet, when the rare opportunity to actually talk to them presents itself, we pick up right where we left off.

I know I’ve disappointed people – one in particular for being more or less unreachable during a set hour during the day. And for that, I’m sorry that I’ve disappointed him. 

This year has been hard, brutal at times – I mean, my dad’s starting radiation treatments for his stage IV, type 3B prostate cancer, my sister and her husband are moving 6 time zones away, my brother’s going to boot camp in about 3.5 months – but I haven’t felt this comfortable in my own skin in such a long time.

dammit.  I’m HAPPY.

And you know, I couldn’t say that at 27, 28, or 29.  And here I am, at 30 and I finally have reached a good place in my life.

Leave a Reply

