Who does a 10 Miler in December??

6 Dec

I do.  Or more specifically, I did.

I finished the J&A Racing ‘Surf-N-Santa’ 10 Miler on Saturday. 

Here’s what they said:

“Congratulations from all of us here at J&A Racing for finishing the inaugural Surf n Santa 10 Miler! The weather this morning was sunny but chilly at 35 degrees with north winds of 4mph gusting to 14.

There were 426 finishers in the Women 30 to 34 age group and 3843 finishers in the race. Your overall finish place was 2951 and your age group finish place was 296. Your overall finish percentile was 2,321.00 % while your age group percentile was 3,052.00 %. Your time of 01:54:25 gave you a 11:27/M pace per mile.”

Officially, this is the slowest 10 Mile race I’ve ever completed.  And I also hurt the most after this race than I have any other race.

I found that I dehydrated really badly causing my kidneys to be incredibly furious with me.  They caused all sorts of things, and I am pretty sure that the shut down my stomach.

My right side needs work – right hip, right knee and right arch of my foot hurt like hell.  So I have stabilization exercises to do.

It was so cold running up the Boardwalk that my Carmex chapstick froze.  I couldn’t squeeze any of the stuff out to put on my lips.  I had to take the chapstick, put it in the palm of my hand and run for a mile until my body heat defrosted it enough so that I could use it. 

So it was a good race, I’m happy that I finished it but damn, I think I’m still frozen.

Leave a Reply

